Parkman House – 33 Beacon Street – Boston – Mayor’s Official Reception Hall

tlumacki_parkman house540-3087(1)

kreiter_meninoparkman20_met

kreiter_meninoparkman18_met

kreiter_meninoparkman13_met(1)

kreiter_meninoparkman11_met

Parkman House - Boston - 33 Beacon Street

Parkman House – Boston – 33 Beacon Street

 

parkman-house-33-beacon-st-boston_3.jpg

parkman house 33 beacon st interior floor plan.jpg

parkman house 33 beacon st next to state capitol

 

Here lived and died George Francis Parkman, Jr. 1823-1908 Remembered with enduring gratitude by the City of Boston for his bequest of a $5 million fund that secures for-ever the maintenance and improvement of the Boston Common and other public parks (Boston Common is America’s oldest Park founded in 1634). The Parkman House is next to the gold domed Boston State Capital Building (as seen at the far right center photo above & aerial photo of State Capitol the Parkman House is to the left see below).

George Parkman JR bio

boston state capitol parkman house 33 beacon st

See computer graphic imaging (animation) of what Beacon Hill looked back in time : 

scan240-3091

Jimmy Carter slept here while he was Governor of Georgia in 1980.

Mayor Martin J. Walsh, together with Department of Neighborhood Development Director Sheila Dillon, Chief of Economic Development, John Barros, members of Boston Main Streets and community members, celebrate the Boston Main Streets volunteers and businesses of the year at the 20th Annual Boston Main Streets Award Ceremony, held at the Parkman House in Downtown Boston.        Published on Jun 29, 2016

Parkman house book 33 Beacon St Boston

https://www.amazon.com/Parkman-beacon-street-Boston-Massachusetts/dp/1179898451

 

Parkman House 10 & 16 interior photos:

http://www.loc.gov/pictures/search/?q=Photograph:%20ma0474&fi=number&op=PHRASE&va=exact&co%20=hh&st=gallery&sg%20=%20true

https://www.bostonglobe.com/2013/01/13/photos-the-parkman-house/hKEpOt0yg3ZKT1wbRy4VTO/story.html?pic=11

freedom trail boston

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Parkman


He was “Murdered at Harvard” and PBS made a documentary about it (link):


http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/murder/

George Parkman JR bio

 

11 Responses to “Parkman House – 33 Beacon Street – Boston – Mayor’s Official Reception Hall”

  1. judy norman Says:

    I have a watercolor picture of the row houses where Mr Parkman lived and on a little plaque reads: “here lived & died George Francis Parkman 1823-1908” This is a very large beautiful picture by an artist named Shectman 1980…..

  2. judy norman Says:

    would the above mentioned picture be of any interest to the city of Boston or Parkman Genealogy? I can send a picture of it.

  3. dmparkman Says:

    More likely that The Parkman House = Mayor’s Official Reception Hall would have an interest in your watercolor picture.

  4. Mary Clough Says:

    Antiques Roadshow painting by Aldro Hibbard was painted of a town called South Londonderry Vermont. The Church on The Hill is no more. I am afarid that landmark burnt two years ago. Some of the buildings in the painting still are there. One being what we call the annex building. (was my Great Great Grandfathers Blacksmith shop) (left of the covered bridge.) This is an awesome find.

  5. Bette bicknell Says:

    Looking for a reproduction of the Parkman house by artist shectman 1980

  6. judy norman Says:

    Dear Bette…I have a print of the Parkman House by a. Shectman . Please contact me @ judynorman17@yahoo.com for more information

  7. Valerie Long Cooper Says:

    My grandfather, William P. Long, was park commissioner or Boston for many years. His office was in this beautiful site where he could overlook the the Common. I am curious to know if you ever rent out the apartment. I have just found out that I have pancreatic cancer and will need a place to stay while I get my radiation treatments at MGH every day for 6 weeks. The estimated dates of this treatment is expected to occur sometime in January, 2018-February, 2018. I’m wondering if this is something you would consider. What a wonderful place for my large family to visit!

  8. Valerie long Cooper Says:

    Thank you very much for your quick response. I will have someone in my family contact the Mayor’s office. I remember quite a while back will I was caretaker for my brave nephew who was suffering from Cystic Fibrosis at MGH I took a walk up Charles St. and turned left on Beacon. I walked up to 33 and just stood there. I remembered visiting my grandfather there while he was at work. I was compelled to knock on the door not knowing if it was a private residence or something else. A very nice lady answered the door and I told her that my grandfather use to have his office there. She asked me who my grandfather was and when I told her she welcomed me in and brought me into my grandfather ‘s office. She knew of him right away. Then she gave me a tour of the Parkman home and also told me that the city of Boston now owned it and what it was used for now. It was a day I’ll never forget!

Leave a Reply

